Sign In Forgot Password

 

Lunch and Learn

Past Sessions
Wednesday, May 24, 2023 4 Sivan 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, May 17, 2023 26 Iyar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, May 10, 2023 19 Iyar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, May 3, 2023 12 Iyar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, April 26, 2023 5 Iyar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, March 29, 2023 7 Nisan 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, March 22, 2023 29 Adar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, March 15, 2023 22 Adar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 15 Adar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, March 1, 2023 8 Adar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM - Wolk Hall
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 1 Adar 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, February 15, 2023 24 Sh'vat 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 17 Sh'vat 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 10 Sh'vat 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 3 Sh'vat 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 25 Tevet 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, January 11, 2023 18 Tevet 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, January 4, 2023 11 Tevet 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 27 Kislev 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, December 14, 2022 20 Kislev 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 13 Kislev 5783 - 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM

The theme for this year's Lunch & Learns is Beth Emeth at 185: Understanding Our Past, Present, & Future. We meet on Wednesdays from 12:00-1:15 pm, in-person in the Larner Library and virtually on Zoom. The password is "CBE." We'll provide cookies & coffee/tea, you bring your lunch, and join in the fun of discussion and study together.

On March 1, Bonnie Cramer and Kathleen Duff, friends and neighbors for over thirty years, will discuss the Biblical imperative to love your neighbor. Bonnie Cramer is Director of Union College Hillel, Mashpia'ah Ruchanit, Co-Chair Jewish-Catholic Dialogue Member, Interfaith Committee, Community Relations Council Jewish Federation of NENY. Kathleen K. Duff is Member, Commission for Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs, R.C.D.A. Retired Campus Minister, Notre Dame-Bp. Gibbons School Member, Interfaith Committee, Community Relations Council Jewish Federation of NENY. Sponsored by The Jewish/Roman Catholic Dialogue Committee, Jewish Federation of NENY, Commission for Ecumenical and Inter-religious Affairs of The Roman Catholic Diocese of Albany, and Congregation Beth Emeth.

March 8 - The Baskin Robbins Of Judaism - The Many Paths To One God - Explaining the different movements in Judaism with Rabbi Ami Monson

March 15 - Know Before Whom You Stand - What Does It Mean To Fear God? with Rabbi Ami Monson

March 22 -  Model Passover Seder at the JCC (340 Whitehall Rd, Albany, NY 12208): Enjoy a meaningful, engaging and interactive Seder led by Rabbi Ami Monson, JFS Community Chaplain. Cost: $18 per person. Lunch includes matzah ball soup and beef brisket. Reservations required. Please call (518) 438-6651 to register or sign up online.

March 29 -  P.P.S. (Pre Pesach Syndrome) - What Does It Mean To Get Rid Of Our Physical & Inner Chametz? with Rabbi Ami Monson

April 26: Bus Tour of Old Jewish Albany including South Pearl District, the home of Rabbi Isaac Mayer Wise, and the CBE South Bethlehem Cemetery.  Pre-Registration required to reserve your seat on the bus.

May 3: Fact and Fiction of CBE History and Nooks and Crannies of 100 Academy Road you’ve never explored with Rabbi Shpeen (rescheduled from April 19)

May 10: Walking Tour of our Loudonville Cemetery/Mendleson Chapel - Honoring our past as Rabbi Shpeen shares interesting stories and anecdotes as we explore our historic burial grounds. Meet outside the Mendleson Chapel at noon!

May 17: Schmooze With Shpeen as Rabbi approaches his retirement: Everything you wanted to ask or know about Rabbi Shpeen’s 38 year career at CBE, all the challenges and changes in four decades.  Bring your questions/favorite stories or remembrances AND any lifecycle event photos at CBE from your family.

May 24: The magic of Stephen Sondheim: A Broadway Retrospective with Dick Feldman. 

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Wed, April 17 2024 9 Nisan 5784